Monday, Oct. 14, 2002

8:58 a.m.

[ Serial Sniper ]

The sniper has started to show a pattern. He takes the weekends off. I think that when we finally know who he is, the reasoning behind this particular detail is going to be really interesting. I imagine him as someone who leads a double life, and that the ones closest to him probably have no idea what he does. The same for his accomplice. The two of them share this secret and when cornered by police they'll probably choose to die rather than be arrested.

My theory used to be that they are either ex-police officers, military or militia. As time goes on I've ruled out cops as a possiblity, but the similarities between our snipers and military or militia are many.

* They use military style weapons. Military officers both past and present have access to armed forces-style weaponry as do militia, who buy much of what they use from surplus stores.

* Ten shots and ten hits, eight of which have been fatal. Only people who have spent lots of time shooting at targets, some of which have to be moving, have that kind of accuracy. Sharpshooters are common in both military or militia settings.

* Military training teaches people to remove their emotions from the situation. Kill without remorse or thought for the victim (like The Terminator). As we have learned since the bombing of the Murrah Building in Oklahoma City, militia training and military training share many of the same techniques, the removal of empathy for the victim among them. The fact that the sniper (there are likely two of them, but I'll use the singular), takes his time and makes sure the shot scores a hit every time shows that he has no fear. When he pulls the trigger he is calm and emotionless.

* He leaves the scene of a shooting slowly and purposefully. He has no fear of being caught. Again, military or militia training has very likely taught him to put aside his terror of being caught until he is safely away from the scene.

* There have been no reports of gun dealers coming forth to speak with police regarding sales of the type of ammunition used for the sniper's weapon. He may be making his own ammo, another connection between the sniper and military personnel and militia.

I could be way off, but since I live so close to where all of this is happening I'm taking more than a passing interest. I'd care if it happened anywhere but having it this close to home is terrifying. The morning after the first man was shot, the sniper killed four other people then was seen heading toward our area. I had no idea what was going on because I always watch Nick Jr. with my babies in the morning. That day I was planning to take the kids and go into Frederick to shop. After she called I decided to stay home. That day and many since, Frederick County schools have been under total lockdown. No one gets in, no one leaves.

I can't keep John home and I'm nervous about sending him to school. Larry doesn't want us out even for a little while. He's doing all of the shopping and puts gas in the cars. Eventually I'm going to have to leave the house. I want to, in fact. Why should he take all of the risks himself? I don't want him to be shot any more than he wants me to be. Knowing that the cops are tirelessly looking for him in Montgomery County, DC and Virginia, he may just turn around and go to Baltimore. He could be anyhwere.

And people need to stop thinking that he is trying to make a pentacle pattern with his kills. If he were a practicing pagan he wouldn't be trying to harm / kill people in the first place. Our only law is harm none, why would one of us be out there doing something like that? No one started trying to make that kind of connection until they found that freaking tarot card.

I won't say it's impossible for him to be pagan, very few things in this world are certain and there are psycho fanatics of every faith. But if he does turn out to be I will be extremely shocked. It goes against everything we believe.

I just wish they'd find him. Or call Laurie Cabot. Her track record with police in Salem is damn good and she has even caused one criminal that I know of to turn himself in. Whatever they do, I hope this is over soon.

People are afraid to go out even though they have to.

Even worse, we're afraid to send our children to school.

Back - Forward

� Dreamyautumn, 2003

Navigation

Contact:
[X] Email
[X] Guestbook
[X] AIM
[X] Notes

Linkage:
[X] Read this first
[X] Current
[X] Archive
[X] Profile
[X] Cast List
[X] 101 Things
[X] Reviews
[X] Pictures
[X] Cliques
[X] Web Rings
[X] My Diary Rings
[X] Diary Rings
[X] Clix Banner
[X] Vox Populi
[X] Neopets, ect.
[X] Trading Card
[X] Dead Journal
[X] Dream Journal
[X] Memorials
[X] Become my childer
[X] LOTR Diaries
[X] Wish List
[X] Host

Buttons