Friday, Aug. 08, 2003

12:05 p.m.

[ Trent's checkup and other stuff ]

It took me a long time to figure out that my privacy is going to be compromised wherever I go regardless of how hard I fight to protect it, there fore I am quitting journaling altogether and permanently locking all of my sites.

Just Kidding!

Heh...that was a little joke.

Anyway...

It seems the receptionist at the doctor's office was mistaken and Mr. Trent was in fact not due for any shots, a circumstance that pleased us both muchly. He did not like the physical but he was really good about it, only putting up a bit of a fight for the testicular exam (the doctor had to make sure they had both dropped, which of course they have), and when she tried to look at his teeth. Nobody he doesn't know is getting anywhere near that boy's mouth, on this he does not compromise. I can barely get in there to brush his teeth and he loves me.

In spite of the fact that he was a very undersized preemie when he started his life, he ranks in the top 25% for height. He's thin, but that's because even though he eats constantly he's also constantly on the move. His current quest is to conquer the entertainment center, which is about five feet and some change, by scaling up the front. I personally find this upsetting but he seems to enjoy it.

I'm glad he's tall like his dad. He could have easily inherited my mutant Hobbit gene and ended up staying close to the ground all of his life. People ask me how tall I am and I always say, "13 inches." Actually it's closer to 5'2" but I like to see the expressions on their faces when I say '13 inches'. Sometimes I'm just an asshole like that. Frankly, I like it down here. My creator, in her infinite wisdom and mercy, instinctively knew I was afraid of heights and made me a low-rider. Go her. :o)

Zoe's rapidly catching up to her brother so by the time the monstahs (what I sometimes call them - bad Boris Karloff impression), are twelve and eleven they will probably be taller than me. Yikes. That'll suck. How do you discipline or guide a kid who's bigger than you?

That reminds me. When we went to get our wills worked out a few months ago one of the attorneys, then largely pregnant, had a great story about height and the language gap.

Her doctors are chinese, and though excellent doctors, sometimes it's difficult for her to understand what they're saying. During her last sonogram the doctor seemd to say, "We have a Hobbit."

Our attorney was both amused and confused.

"What do you mean Hobbit? I know my husband and I are both short, but - "

"No, no, no," the doctor replied. "Not Hobbit - haht-beat. Baby have strong haht-beat."

True story.

A lot of randomness seems to be happening in this entry so I'm going to stop now. Otherwise I'll be going off on a tangent with the keyboard the same way I do when I'm speaking and no one wants that. Not pretty. I can go for awhile. It's a side effect of not having much adult company during the day.

Having largely gotten over the privacy issue and my terror of my SIL finding my journal, I have added a nice little link to the right

<---- thataway

to some pictures I downloaded using my old Yahoo account. I took them when Trent was playing, Zoe was playing with her favorite piglet toy and John was trying to sleep. I tried to add two pictures of Larry and I from our wedding but because the files are so big Yahoo didn't want to load them. I think it may have also had something to do with Adelphia. The service kept cutting on and off, just like it does every night. Anyway, I'll try again later.

Back - Forward

� Dreamyautumn, 2003

Navigation

Contact:
[X] Email
[X] Guestbook
[X] AIM
[X] Notes

Linkage:
[X] Read this first
[X] Current
[X] Archive
[X] Profile
[X] Cast List
[X] 101 Things
[X] Reviews
[X] Pictures
[X] Cliques
[X] Web Rings
[X] My Diary Rings
[X] Diary Rings
[X] Clix Banner
[X] Vox Populi
[X] Neopets, ect.
[X] Trading Card
[X] Dead Journal
[X] Dream Journal
[X] Memorials
[X] Become my childer
[X] LOTR Diaries
[X] Wish List
[X] Host

Buttons