Thursday, Nov. 13, 2003

1:29 a.m.

[ Amazing... ]

It's so amazing to me that such a small thing as a dietary change can make a major difference. As I told Xtine earlier, I feel so much better. Vegetarianism is affecting me physically and spiritually and is turning into a really positive experience. It's only been four days but I feel as if I can conquer the world.

And I finally feel as if I truly have the right to call myself a witch. I have a deep sense of bonding to the world and it's creatures that I haven't experienced in a long, long time and I love it. I'm also more aware of the body (I always refer to my body as a separate entity from myself, a habit I acquired several years ago that was pointed out to me by my therapist, the reason being, I suppose, because I don't like the way it looks), and the ways in which it is improving. After only three days my blood sugar is completely under control, I don't feel awful after I eat amd my clothes fit a bit better on me. The changes may seem small but any improvement is better than none.

In browsing through some animal rights sites, I've found one that makes the suggestion that new vegetarians make a visit to a slaughterhouse so that they can be motivated to maintain the lifestyle by seeing first hand the suffering that goes on inside. This one is just a few blocks away from my house. They raise their own cows and have a huge grazing area behind the slaughterhouse with a barn and a nice big grassy area. It has always made me sad to see the cows (some of which are babies), grazing out there, but now it's doubly hard. I really don't think my heart can stand a trip out there. I saw a man come out of there one time wearing a huge white apron with blood splattered all over it. That was bad enough. I don't think I'm strong enough to go inside and actually see it happen. When I talked to Larry about this he asked me not to go.

He actually asked me not to.

Looks like my limits are pretty obvious to him too.

It was a relief to hear him say that. I didn't want to go anyway, but if he thought it was a good idea I would have considered it.

In spite of my cowardice I don't think I'll be tempted to eat meat ever again. The only thing I might miss is seafood and now that I know what happens to fish I'm not sure that will ever present a real problem either.

Larry and I have made an agreement about the christmas shopping (meaning that I buy and he helps me with the costs), so thanks to the internet I have as of now made some decent progress with my xmas shopping. That most loathed of all holidays is only about six weeks away now so I really have to shake my booty. I have half of my list completed though and that's not bad. Blessed be the brilliant mind that created online shopping. Were I still a single girly I'd happily have sex with the owner of that mind to repay him for all of the holiday comfort and joy.

Unless he's a she. Then all she gets is an enthusiastic handshake and my verbal expression of gratitude.

Yeah, I'm like so sure there are close to a billion lesbians all reading this right now and saying, "Damn!!" (LOL)

As if.

I am annoyingly chirpy tonight.

Back - Forward

� Dreamyautumn, 2003

Navigation

Contact:
[X] Email
[X] Guestbook
[X] AIM
[X] Notes

Linkage:
[X] Read this first
[X] Current
[X] Archive
[X] Profile
[X] Cast List
[X] 101 Things
[X] Reviews
[X] Pictures
[X] Cliques
[X] Web Rings
[X] My Diary Rings
[X] Diary Rings
[X] Clix Banner
[X] Vox Populi
[X] Neopets, ect.
[X] Trading Card
[X] Dead Journal
[X] Dream Journal
[X] Memorials
[X] Become my childer
[X] LOTR Diaries
[X] Wish List
[X] Host

Buttons