Thursday, Jan. 30, 2003

11:58 p.m.

[ Chockies flood ]

It's been one big disaster after another since yesterday here at Chez Dreamy.

My babies had a major milestone yesterday evening in the form of their first bath together. Unfortunately it was preceded by some extremely bad judgement on my part, which led to one bitch-kitty of a huge ugly mess.

I know better than to leave the Tornado unsupervised in his high chair with a drink that amounts to more than two tablespoons and isn't surrounded by a spill-proof sippy cup. I knew that and did it anyway, mainly because when my boy is held captive in either his high chair or the ICU (Infant Containment Unit, AKA the playpen), I like to take the opportunity to do things I can't do when he's down and running. I put dishes in the dishwasher, put a load of laundry in the washer or dryer, pee without little faces pressed to the gate in the bathroom doorway; that kind of thing. In this case I foolishly took five minutes to answer my email. Both of the babies were in the kitchen. Zoe was crawling around investigating (and being disappointed that the cabinets are childproofed), and Trent was having an afternoon cookie and chocolate milk.

Everything was thoroughly groovy until it suddenly occurred to me that all was quiet. People without children scratch their heads in wonderment, people with children, especially small one, understand completely.

Every parent prays for quiet but instinctively also knows that when the quiet comes, much like the town crier's wailings and bell ringings, it leaves one with a sense of impending doom. I got up and ran to the kitchen to find that my son had dumped out a full bottle of Hershey's Creamy Chocolate Milkshake all over himself, the chair and the floor. I was rooted to the spot for a second, my muscles unwilling to move toward him and the sticky mess all over the floor. Trent calls it Chockies. There were chockies aplenty. It was even dripping from the seat area and running down the legs of the high chair. A puddle of it had come together right next to the chair, where my baby girl sat, splashing in it.

I remember making a sound, but for the life of me couldn't remember what it sounded like, but judging by the shocked way they both froze and looked at me I assume it was pretty loud and shrill.

They both ended up in the bath, Trent a little longer than Zoe because even though she was sitting in a puddle, he was still more choco dipped. He looked like he had been scoop for a day at Baskin Robbins.

By the time I had bathed both children and cleaned up the mess I was too exhausted and pissed off to do anything else.

And now I can't keep the Tornado in the ICU because he can climb out. If I'm not in the room to make sure he falls asleep at nap time he hops out and goes on with his day in stealth mode. This boy is really starting to wear me out.

More later. There's more to write but I'm dead tired. I'll fix whatever typos I made tomorrow.

Thank you to everyone who signed my guestbook or emailed me. I always reply to my messages, sometimes it just takes me a few days. :o)

Back - Forward

� Dreamyautumn, 2003

Navigation

Contact:
[X] Email
[X] Guestbook
[X] AIM
[X] Notes

Linkage:
[X] Read this first
[X] Current
[X] Archive
[X] Profile
[X] Cast List
[X] 101 Things
[X] Reviews
[X] Pictures
[X] Cliques
[X] Web Rings
[X] My Diary Rings
[X] Diary Rings
[X] Clix Banner
[X] Vox Populi
[X] Neopets, ect.
[X] Trading Card
[X] Dead Journal
[X] Dream Journal
[X] Memorials
[X] Become my childer
[X] LOTR Diaries
[X] Wish List
[X] Host

Buttons