Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2003

9:28 a.m.

[ Dreamcatcher ]

I finally finished Dreamcatcher. Stephen King's work is always brilliant, but this book was exceptional. Henry, Pete, Beaver and Jonesy were so easy to relate to and Duddits was such a sweet little boy it was impossible to not fall in love with them all. Beaver was especially real to me, because even though he is involved in about ten percent of the story the reader gets an excellent idea of who he is. He's me. Same sense of humor, same penchant for creating 1001 uses for the word 'fuck', same approach to life. Except for his toothpick fetish, we're very much alike. I couldn't help putting myself in his place when he was in the bathroom at Hole In The Wall trying to keep the byrum from escaping from the toilet. Although I genuinely liked all of the characters (even Mr. Grey, murderous asshole that he was), it was Beaver's death that bothered me the most, and not just because I was able to relate to him on such a personal level, but because he seemed so...undeserving, for lack of a better word. Most of the people to whom terrible things happened in dreamcatcher were completely undeserving, but Beaver seemed especially so.

I tend to get overly absorbed in Stephen King's work, which I attribute to his having the amazing gift of putting the reader there, making the act of reading an experience - something more than reading.

Anyway, after I finish the Harry Potter series I may have to go back and read Dreamcatcher again.

Powerful stuff.

And I am so loving Harry Potter right now. Can't stand his bullying asshole of a cousin though. I knew from seeing the movies that he's a whiny little brat, but until now I had no idea he had been using Harry as his personal punching bag. It would serve the litte shit right if the doctors can't remove the tail Hagrid gave him.

Ha-ha. Shame on me.

Gotta go. More later.

Back - Forward

� Dreamyautumn, 2003

Navigation

Contact:
[X] Email
[X] Guestbook
[X] AIM
[X] Notes

Linkage:
[X] Read this first
[X] Current
[X] Archive
[X] Profile
[X] Cast List
[X] 101 Things
[X] Reviews
[X] Pictures
[X] Cliques
[X] Web Rings
[X] My Diary Rings
[X] Diary Rings
[X] Clix Banner
[X] Vox Populi
[X] Neopets, ect.
[X] Trading Card
[X] Dead Journal
[X] Dream Journal
[X] Memorials
[X] Become my childer
[X] LOTR Diaries
[X] Wish List
[X] Host

Buttons