Monday, Aug. 11, 2003

1:41 a.m.

[ LOEG, piercings and frikkin' adelphia! ]

I hadn't taken John to see his birthday movie yet, so today we went to see The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, a film that was not quite titled correctly.

It should have been called "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen And One Really Awesome Chick". John and I both really loved this film. It brought together characters we are all familiar with (Tom Sawyer, Mina Harker, Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde, Dorian Grey, Alan Quartermaine, The Invisible Man, Captain Nemo - am I leaving anyone out?), and made them into a devastatingly powerful crime fighting team. Actually, they were supposed to prevent something terrible from happening. I don't want to give too much away except to say that the entire cast was excellent, except Stuart Townsend.

As they say on South Park, he couldn't act his way out of a nut sack.

I figured his dismal performance in Queen of the Damned, was partially due to the fact that it was early on in his career and he wasn't quite comfortable yet, and partially due to the fact that Queen of the Dumb, has got to be one of the worst films ever made. It was a churning cinematic cesspool of terrible writing and even worse acting. Hideously, wretchedly awful.

Can't say I enjoyed his contribution to this film either.

But everyone else rocks!! Dr Jekyll's transformation and the audience's first view of the Nautilus are worth the price of admission all by themselves. Sean Connery and Shane West are so charismatic (and both so sexy...oh my god), they ought to be doing more films together, the chemistry is just that good. The fight sequences are wonderful as well, and there are plenty of them. I loved the Mina Harker character. She kicked mucho butt.

When that comes out on DVD, it's a definite keeper.

In other news...

I added a little forum to the menu.

<----

Just thought it would be fun to have a message board.

The stupidest thing happened this afternoon. I got home from the movie and was cleaning my piercing when the rubber backing I was using to hold it in came off. After much struggling and swearing I got frustrated and lost the little fucker. Well, I've had this thing pierced and repierced like five times because I had to take it out for various jobs, ect. and I'm not letting it close up again. The solution: I cut up a pencil eraser and am now using that to keep my stud from flying out. I'm not waiting any longer than I have to. As soon as my captive bead ring comes in I'm replacing this thing. The hole seems to be healing well and the captive is stainless steel (highly polished so it won't snag me, I checked), and I really don't think I can stand six more weeks of having this piece of eraser stuck up my nose. It feels like the world's biggest, hardest booger. Not at all pleasant.

I've learned quite a bit from being pierced this time and the last time. I was thinking of making an entry about it but I'm not sure if that's a good idea because I don't want someone to pass through, read that and think they don't have to see a doctor if their piercing shows signs of infection. Sea salt soaks are wonderful but for infected piercings you may also need an antibiotic, especially with nostril and septum piercings, which can absess into your brain and kill you.

I might. I dunno.

My internet keeps cutting off tonight, taking my AIM and everything I've been trying to work on with it.

Frikkin' Adelphia.

Back - Forward

� Dreamyautumn, 2003

Navigation

Contact:
[X] Email
[X] Guestbook
[X] AIM
[X] Notes

Linkage:
[X] Read this first
[X] Current
[X] Archive
[X] Profile
[X] Cast List
[X] 101 Things
[X] Reviews
[X] Pictures
[X] Cliques
[X] Web Rings
[X] My Diary Rings
[X] Diary Rings
[X] Clix Banner
[X] Vox Populi
[X] Neopets, ect.
[X] Trading Card
[X] Dead Journal
[X] Dream Journal
[X] Memorials
[X] Become my childer
[X] LOTR Diaries
[X] Wish List
[X] Host

Buttons