Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2003

11:55 a.m.

[ Rerooting ]

I'm almost finished with my listing. I just have to get the image codes created that people can use as buttons and I'm all set - almost two weeks ahead of schedule.

I've stopped buying new CPKs for now. The money I got for xmas from my oh so wonderful (really, she is - she's so nice and I genuinely like her), MIL is gone and I charged some rather expensive stuff for John that he really wanted so I have to pay my credit card off before I can buy more. Larry's going to help with some stuff I charged during my xmas shopping because the store wouldn't let me sign off on his credit card like he wanted. He wasn't with me, so it was either charge the stuff to my card or leave it there. With a little over a week until xmas, I think I made the right choice. As if I had another.

So I'm hoping that Andrew will take my suggestion to heart and allow toy trading at Swappington's.

Swappington's is working out very well, I think. I've traded a book and am about to receive one. It's a fun system once you start to get points, which seems to be taking awhile. I need to get more before I can do any more swapping so now I'm starting to get a bit impatient (LOL).

I followed the recommendations of some other CPK collectors and tried to dry two of my CPKs in the dryer using low heat. If anyone reading this collects, remember that I told you that this doesn't work. Use NO heat. Now I have to try to buff the scuffmarks off of their faces and the little bit of heat I used fried the hair on one of them. But that's okay because I know how to fix it and it looks like so much fun I've developed a new interest.

Rerooting!

WTF, you say?

So did I until I visited some sites and saw what it is. A reroot is what you do when the doll's original hair is completely fubar or you want to give it a different look. This is how some CPKs and Barbies end up with blue, pink or curly hair. It can take hours, but the end result is certainly worth it and it looks like fun. From there I also developed an interest in repainting their little plastic faces to look as if they've been made up. All in one day. Not bad, huh? All I need is to get some old dolls and some new hair (which is el cheapo, thank goodness), and get started. This might also lead to sewing my own doll clothes. ACK! I can't follow a pattern to save my life, so perhaps not. Even Simplicity patterns mess with me. I stare at them, too afraid to cut them out, hand curled into a deformed claw poised over the uncut patterns like the Phantom of the Opera preparing to play the organ.

But it could happen. Depends on how ambitious I get after the rerooting and repainting.

Uh-oh, I feel a song coming on...

"He's washing dishes, he's ironing clothes...he's so ambitious, he even sews. Don't forget folks, that's what you get folks, for making whoopie..."

I'm like the guy in that some when it comes to sewing.

I bet I'm really getting some bizarro looks from my readers right now.

And yes, that thought does amuse me.

I was also thinking about attaching little faery wings to them or their clothes. If I solder them to the dolls, they're permanent. If I sew them (ACK - there's that word again!), to their clothes they can transition which could be fun. I haven't decided yet.

I was all excited to tell Larry all about this last night but he was so stressed out from work I decided to wait. Nothing feels complete until I've shared it with him, it's as if nothing is as good or as fun until he knows about it. He supports me in all of the weird things I want to do so I do. That's why he rocks.

The one exception would be if I wanted to join the cast of Jackass.

Hey, everyone's got their limits.

If I ever start doing that I'll post pictures so people can see how talented (or lack 'o talented), I am.

Until then, check this out. These are some of the scariest fucking things I've ever seen.

Back - Forward

� Dreamyautumn, 2003

Navigation

Contact:
[X] Email
[X] Guestbook
[X] AIM
[X] Notes

Linkage:
[X] Read this first
[X] Current
[X] Archive
[X] Profile
[X] Cast List
[X] 101 Things
[X] Reviews
[X] Pictures
[X] Cliques
[X] Web Rings
[X] My Diary Rings
[X] Diary Rings
[X] Clix Banner
[X] Vox Populi
[X] Neopets, ect.
[X] Trading Card
[X] Dead Journal
[X] Dream Journal
[X] Memorials
[X] Become my childer
[X] LOTR Diaries
[X] Wish List
[X] Host

Buttons